National Novel Writing Month: A Literary Life-Saver

So I have just recently became infatuated with writing down my thoughts and feelings. This is a wonderful experience for me, as I can relay things that are troubling my heart to those who will listen, or read.

I have been on ‘writer’s block’ for about four years now, due to the fact that at the time I was in the process of writing two different “novels” (how was I to know what the finished product was going to become?) One unfortunate day, my computer decided to retard to the blue screen of death, which ultimately led to the demise of those said works of literature. Needless to say, I felt very foolish for not backing my content up, and I felt even more uninspired. Although I remember what I was writing, I couldn’t for the life of me repeat the heart and emotion I felt while writing the individual sentences that entrailed my so-called novels. I just gave up, if you will. I haven’t felt compelled to write on any of my blogs, and I haven’t been keeping up with my life in my personal journal either. I tried several different ideas to jot my mind down on paper: a fashion/style journal, a dream diary, a medical research and information journal, a few notebooks to write down preparation for another novel I was thinking of two years ago. None of them helped me to be more inspired. I threw down my pencil, and I said, “The heck with it! It will come to me one day, and when it does, the wait will have been worth it.” I still felt like a failure though, and that I wasn’t getting anything done with my life.

Now, I’m back in the swing of things, and not only have I been inspired to contribute regularly on this blog, I have been writing in my diary/art book, and I have been thinking of a couple of ideas for a children’s book and a fantasy novel. November is National Novel Writing Month, and this is the basis for today’s topic. Also known as NaNoWriMo, the goal is to write a 50,000-word novel (of your choosing, of course) by midnight November 30th. The challenge starts this Friday, November 1st (also my mother’s birthday!!) You don’t have to write a novel: You can write a series, a fan-fiction, a long poem if you want! The main outcome is to get your creative juices flowing. I am very much inspired to start this challenge, and if you would like to as well, you can sign-up here. If you want to find out more about National Novel Writing Month, you can also go here.

Image rights to National Novel Writing Month

Image rights to National Novel Writing Month

Anyway, I have one idea that has been popping up in my mind constantly. I am not going to say exactly what it is yet, as I want to surprise you! I still need to organize my thoughts about it though. All I’m going to say is that it is going to be a mix of historical fiction and fantasy, inspired by works like Harry Potter, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, Alice In Wonderland, and The Lord of the Rings. I’m so excited! Please wish me luck!

Audrey

Writers end up writing about their obsessions. Things that haunt them; things they can’t forget; stories they carry in their bodies waiting to be released.” – Natalie Goldberg

2 thoughts on “National Novel Writing Month: A Literary Life-Saver

Leave a Reply

