So Exhausted: An Autobiography

Image

Image credit to myself, AudreyColleenPhotography via Tumblr

Ever since my hectic summer of glorious ’13, I have been considerably lazy and tired. I don’t know whether it’s recuperation from having two jobs seven days a week and going to class or what, but I have been a little worried about some things I have been experiencing.

First, even though I usually get tired earlier in the fall and winter, I have never felt as exhausted as I have been feeling for the past couple of weeks. I have a terrible time getting out of bed, for one thing, which is pretty normal. I also tend to stay up (recently until 1 – 1:30 am) doing some reading or researching. I have stayed much later before and have actually pulled some all-nighters, but I have never been exhausted like I am. It’s not a, “I’ve stayed up all night,” exhaustion. It’s an icky, sickly exhaustion. It’s like I feel too weak to get out of bed, physically and mentally. Fatigue I suppose is a good term to use as well.

Number two is my dizzy spells. Mind you, I have had them before, and I had a couple of them throughout the last summer. However, in the past couple of days, I have had one episode everyday. They come about so suddenly and so quickly, but I am left stunned, sitting in my seat (thankfully I have been sitting down) trying to gather my wits to figure out what had just happened. I started reading on the difference between vertigo and dizziness. Vertigo is the phenomenon when the world feels like it is spinning around you. As if you were sitting or standing in place, and you feel the room spinning. Dizziness is when your mind feels like it is spinning. Please correct me if I am wrong, but that is how I understood the difference. I felt both! Of course, that probably isn’t uncommon. I had a headache after the dizziness as well, and I had an, “Alice in Wonderland” experience where I felt smaller than everything around me. I know sometimes I don’t eat as correctly as I should, and as silly my excuses are (I don’t have time, I sleep in, whathaveyou.), I still don’t manage my eating schedule like I need to. I try to stay hydrated, and I usually drink water. I actually have grown a distaste for sodas.

I wont go into too much further detail with other problems I have been having, but I have noticed frequent urination has been a concern of mine. I don’t know whether it has been the water I have been drinking (but I have been regularly drinking water for about a year now, and this has never happened) or the green teas and so-called healthy, organic juices (Bolthouse Farms) that I drink or what. Maybe they are just detoxifying my body? I don’t know! I have also been experiencing slight headaches, bodyaches, among other things.

I know, my dear readers, that you are not doctors, and even if you are, you cannot professionally help a strange woman over the internet. However, I did want to relay my concern to anyone who is willing to read, as it helps me organize my thoughts and also receive feedback. It could be low-blood-sugar, and I very well may need to see a doctor. I am prepared to do so if these problems keep up, and I’m sure they will.

Thank you for reading, I know this was very personal.

Audrey

I can’t exactly describe how I feel but it’s not quite right. And it leaves me cold.” – F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Love of the Last Tycoon.

Leave a Reply

